Yevhen Stankovych

(b. 19 September 1942, Svaliava).

Ukrainian composer of mostly orchestral, chamber and choral works that have been performed in Asia and Europe.

Prof. Stankovych studied composition with Adam Sołtys at the M. V. Lysenko National Music Academy in Lviv from 1962–63. He later attended the P. I. Tchaikovsky National Music Academy of Ukraine in Kiev, where he studied composition with Boris Lyatoshinsky from 1965–68 and Myroslav Skoryk from 1968–70.

Among his honours are the Taras Shevchenko National Prize from the government of Ukraine (1977, for Symphony No. 3, 'I Strengthen Myself') and a recommended work at the UNESCO International Rostrum of Composers in Paris (1985, for Chamber Symphony No. 3).

He is also active in other positions. He worked as an editor for the publisher Muzychna Ukraina from 1970–76.

He has taught as Professor of Composition at the P. I. Tchaikovsky National Music Academy of Ukraine since 1976.

In addition to the works listed below, he has composed scores for numerous films.





When the Fern Blooms (folk opera), soloists, folk chorus, small orchestra, 1978–80

Olha (ballet legend), 1982

Spark (ballet), 1983

Prometheus (ballet), 1985

Vikings (ballet), 1999


Overture, 1968

Concerto, cello, orchestra, 1970

Sinfonietta, 1971

Fantasy on Ukrainian, Armenian and Lithuanian Folk Tunes, 1972

Verkhovynska (symphony), 1969–73

Symphony No. 1, 'Sinfonia larga', 15 strings, 1973

Symphony No. 2, 'Eroica', 1975

Symphony No. 3, 'I Strengthen Myself' (text by Pavlo Tychyna), baritone, mixed chorus, orchestra, 1976

Symphony No. 4, 'Sinfonia lirica', string orchestra, 1977

Symphony No. 5, 'Symphony of Pastorals', violin, orchestra, 1979

Chamber Symphony No. 3, flute, string orchestra, 1983

Symphony No. 6, 'Dictum', small orchestra, 1987

Chamber SymphonyConcerto No. 5, 'Fears of Autumn Days', French horn, small orchestra, 1994

Chamber SymphonyConcerto No. 6, 'Secret Calls', clarinet, string orchestra, 1995

Concerto, violin, piano, string orchestra, 1996

Ave Maria, small orchestra, 1997

Passacaglia for the beginning of the century, 1998

Passacaglia for the end of the century, 1998

Concerto, viola, orchestra, 1999

Chamber Symphony No. 7, 'Some remarks... once being a guest of Vivaldi', violin, string orchestra, 2000


Sonata No. 1, cello, piano, 1966

Allegro moderato, string quartet, 1967

Concertino, flute, violin, 1967

Sonata No. 2, cello, piano, 1968

Chamber Symphony No. 1, flute, clarinet, trombone, harp, violin, piano, percussion, 1971

Suite, string quartet, 1971

Sonata No. 3, cello, piano, 1971

Two Pieces, violin, cello, 1972

Na VerkhovynaAt the Mountain Plateau, violin, piano, 1972

String Quartet, 1973

Sonata piccola, violin, piano, 1977

Chamber Symphony No. 2, ensemble, 1980

Chamber Symphony No. 4, ensemble, 1989

Music of Reddish Forest, violin, cello, piano, 1992

Music for Celestial Musicians, flute, oboe, clarinet, French horn, bassoon, 1993

What Has Happened in Silence after an Echo, flute, clarinet, violin, cello, piano, percussion, 1994

Humble Pastoral, violin, viola, cello, 1996

Sonata, clarinet, 1996

Blossoming Garden and Apples Falling Down into Water, clarinet, cello, piano, 1996


A Word about Lenin (cantata), soloists, mixed chorus, orchestra, 1970

SymphonyDiptych (text by Taras Shevchenko), mixed chorus, 1985

Babyn Yar (Kaddish Requiem) (text by Dmytro Pavlychko), soloists, speaker, mixed chorus, large orchestra, 1991

Black Elegy, soloists, mixed chorus, orchestra, 1991

Lord, Our Governor (concerto), mixed chorus, 1998

Unto Thee will I cry, O Lord (text from Psalm 28), male chorus, 2000

How Amiable Are Thy Tabernacles, O Lord of Hosts (text from Psalm 84), mixed chorus, 2000

The Lord is My Shepherd (text from Psalm 23), female chorus, 2000

The Lay of the Host of Ihor, mixed chorus, orchestra, 2001


Suite, 1965

Fugue, 1965

Sonatina, 1966

Sonata, 1972


Passacaglia, 1998